Skip to content

Home Alone

October 3, 2010

Home Alone

Is there a better ‘feel good’ movie ever?

Oh I love my chick flicks alright… Sweet Home Alabama, Chocolat, Two Weeks Notice, Princess Diaries – yes they all rock. But one session with Home Alone is enough to make you laugh till your stomach hurts and leave you smiling.

I googled Macaulay Culkin to see what happened to him. He was one of the most famous child actors… THE most famous, if you ask me. And then there was Lindsey Lohan as well.

The last I remember reading about him was a series of drug busts and stuff like that which turned up in the most mundane of papers. When the ultimate cute kid pulls such gags I guess it does make news. I would definitely want to see him on screen again… to see if he still has the charm. A lot of child stars have grown up to have zilch charisma. Or maybe it is just super hard to compete with a child’s charisma.

But Home Alone was a genre apart, even for child actors. I watched Home Alone 3 and 4 and it was… boring. Maybe because it was all done before or maybe because the two kids weren’t simply as adorable as Culkin. I just love that scene where Culkin aka Kevin is wrapped in the huge green towel and is pretending to sing into a comb in front of the mirror. And then he decides he is old enough for aftershave.

And the famous dialogues:
“I made it happen. I made  my family disappear”

“Ugh! Buzz’s girlfriend!”

“You guys give up yet? Or are you thirsty for more?”

“I took a shower washing every body part with actual soap; including all my major crevices; including in between my toes and in my belly button which I never did before but sort of enjoyed. I washed my hair with adult formula shampoo and used cream rinse for that just-washed shine. I can’t seem to find my toothbrush, so I’ll pick one up when I go out today. Other than that, I’m in good shape.”

Yup. It was a good movie. And maybe because it is still haunting me, I cannot think of another movie which was so cute.

Of course, there was… Richie Rich, funny in its own way. And Baby’s Day Out, which wasn’t so much about the baby acting rather than how the director managed to get those scenes right.

Why are there so few good kids movies these days? They are all preachy or full of stupid violence like Spy Kids. Yes, I hated Spy Kids. The kids aren’t cute enough and Antonio Banderas looks like a dork and the whole thing is lame. The last good kids movie I enjoyed………………….. The Lion King. And that was animated. Oh wait… Madagascar. But animated again.

Disney, are you listening?

Video of the day: Home Alone Soundtrack

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 12, 2011 2:08 pm

    Hi… I cannot do anything about the comments that you’ve subscribed to. You can check the comments on your dashboard… there’s a little “my comments” section where you can see whatever comments you’ve made and you can choose to unsubscribe yourself. Otherwise, in the emails, there is generally an option to stop receiving those mails.
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

