Skip to content

Sex And The City 2

January 30, 2011

Sex And The City 2

So I finally got around to watching the movie that was made after nearly a decade of the ‘SNTC’ drama.

I first discovered the sitcom years after it had concluded on HBO. I found it with some guy (straight) friends who were absolute fans of the sitcom. I had spurned it when it was playing on television stating that it was all about ‘women and their silly boyfriends and sex.’

But at the age of 20 and entering the field of dating, it was quite interesting to me and my friends. I got the whole series and would randomly plug in an episode.

Then the movie came out and I was a little stunned. To be frank, I barely even recall what that movie was about apart from Carrie getting married.

I found Carrie ridiculous and annoying and flighty, and her sense of style – appalling.

And then the second movie came and everyone was raving about it. Except the critics. And then many of the women I met too. But today, I finally pulled out that DVD I had gotten a long time ago…

Maybe because I was braced for the worst, it didn’t seem so horrible. There are one or two good moments in the movie. My favorite – when they all sing “I’m a woman, hear me roar.”

It was that moment what the entire sitcom had stood for – women’s liberation. Women talking about dating and ridiculous issues because they were important to them. Well, least that’s what it started with.

The rest of it is simply old. Not even boring. Just old. It has some relevant issues… the seriousness of women’s lib in the Middle East.

Watching a woman eat French fries through her veil, lifting it every time to eat a chip, Carrie comments “That’s a lot of commitment to fast food.”

The comment was funny. But it did made me wonder about why was it treated so frivolously? I mean it is all about the ‘desert mystique’ and all that shit but… it is like they picked the image off a tourist poster. The Souk, the desert and the opulence.

True, I’ve not been to Abu Dhabi but don’t they have special areas for women where they can walk around without their veils? It is just so AMERICAN… the way they disregard other’s cultures. There are Americans who respect every culture but there are also the rude, irritating ones. I wish it was Carrie who had been arrested instead of Samantha, who at least never pretended to be something she is not.

The movie is a really sad attempt to portray old women as young. True, it is also about the struggle women face in accepting their age. But it is done so shamefully, that I would hate to waste 250 bucks on watching it.

Yes, it is tough to have babies and bring them up. A woman does not want to be just a mother and honestly, that should be okay. That was one of the most honest moments of the movie – when Miranda confesses to Charlotte that she doesn’t want to be ‘just a mother.’

It is a question of identity and there is nothing wrong with it. Yet it is a question every woman faces these days – the distance between ‘mommy’ and ‘boss’.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

